Established in 1977 by the Colorado state legislature, the Commission on Family Medicine (COFM) strengthens the training of family physicians in Colorado through funding received from the state legislature for the education of family physicians, including family medicine residency programs, rural training tracks, and loan repayment.


The COFM Commission is composed of the Dean of Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine (Parker, Colorado), the Dean of the University of Colorado School of Medicine (Aurora, Colorado), Family Medicine Residency program directors from the ten Colorado Family Medicine residency programs, Governor-appointed citizens from the seven congressional districts, and a representative from the Colorado Academy of Family Physicians.  

The Commission on Family Medicine is also committed to reforming the Medicare GME (graduate medical education) payment system.  More information is available on the GME Initiative website (


Contact Lynne Jones, 

Executive Director